Skip to content

Computer Science – A Level

Entry Requirements:

Minimum entry requirements for all A Level courses are minimum of 8 GCSE subjects, with an average grade of 6 (legacy grade B) or above; including at least a grade 6 or above in GCSE English Language (or Literature) and GCSE mathematics and a grade 6 or above in GCSE Science.

In addition, to study this subject you must have a grade 5 or above in mathematics and English Language. 6 or above in GCSE Information Technology/BTEC equivalent at distinction.


Computer Science is a practical subject where students can apply the academic principles learned in the classroom to real-world systems. It’s an intensely creative subject that combines invention and excitement, and can look at the natural world through a digital prism.

The aims of this qualification are to enable learners to develop:

An understanding and ability to apply the fundamental principles and concepts of computer science, including: abstraction, decomposition, logic, algorithms and data representation

  • The ability to analyse problems in computational terms through practical experience of solving such problems, including writing programs to do so
  • The capacity to think creatively, innovatively, analytically, logically and critically
  • The capacity to see relationships between different aspects of computer science
  • Mathematical skills.


Year 1 and 2 units:

1. Unit name:             Unit 1 – Component 1
Unit Title:                   Computing principles
Exam Type:                Written paper – 1 hour and 15 minutes
Marks:                        140 marks 40% of A level

2. Unit name:             Unit 2 – Component 2
Unit Title:                   Algorithms and problem solving
Exam Type:                Written paper – 1 hour and 15 minutes
                        140 marks 40% of A level

3. Unit name:             Unit 3* or 4** – Component 3 or 4
Unit Title:                   Programming project
Exam Type:                Written paper – 1 hour and 15 minutes
                        70 marks 20% of A level

* Indicates synoptic assessment

** Learners who are re-taking the qualification may carry forward their mark for the non exam assessment component (04).

IT Practitioners – BTEC

BTEC Level 3 National Extended Diploma in Computing
BTEC Level 3 is a triple course consisting of 13 units. 4 units are externally assessed and 9 units are internally assessed. This course is equivalent to 3 A-levels (1080 guided learning hours)
Year 12
Unit 1- Principles of Computer Science
Unit 2 – Fundamentals of Computer Systems
Unit 3 – Planning and Management of Computer Systems
Unit 4 – Software Design and Development Project
Unit 8 -Business Application of Social Media
Unit 10 -Human-computer Interaction
Unit 15 – Website Development
Unit 14 – Computer Games Development
Year 13
Unit 7 – IT System Security and Encryption
Unit 9 – The Impact of Computing
Unit 18 – Relational Database Development
Unit 22 – Systems Analysis and Design
Unit 19 – Computer Networking